Home > Archive > GTA VI Editions, Prices and Platforms Explained

GTA VI Editions, Prices and Platforms Explained

Standard vs Ultimate vs the $20 Upgrade, US prices, what Ultimate adds, GTA+ pre-order terms, region rules, the collector's box, and which to buy.

Last checked: Oct 11 2026. Prices and store terms can change before launch. We re-check the store listings and update this page when they do.

The practical answer first: at today's US prices, buying the Standard Edition and adding the Upgrade later costs exactly the same as buying the Ultimate Edition. $79.99 plus $20.00 is $99.99. So if you are unsure, nothing in the current price list punishes you for starting with Standard and deciding after you have played. The things that do depend on when and how you buy are the pre-order bonuses, and those differ between digital and physical.

At a glance

ItemAnswerSource
PlatformsPlayStation 5, Xbox Series X|SRockstar Support; Take-Two, Aug 7 2026
PCNot announced (see the PC release tracker)absence from all primary sources
EditionsStandard, UltimateRockstar Support
Add-onUltimate Edition Upgrade, for Standard owners, at any timeRockstar Support
US price, Standard$79.99Xbox Store, PS Store, Rockstar Store
US price, Ultimate$99.99Xbox Store, PS Store
US price, Upgrade$20.00 on the Xbox Store; the US PlayStation Store listed it as "Unavailable" with no price on Oct 11 2026Xbox Store; PlayStation Store
Physical versionStandard only, a download code in a box, no discRockstar Support; Rockstar Store
ReleaseNov 19 2026Rockstar Newswire, Nov 6 2025
Pre-order bonus deadlineBefore Nov 20 2026Rockstar Support; Rockstar Store

What is counted, and how

Every price here is a US list price that we read on the store page on Oct 11 2026. We did not verify prices in any other country, so we print none. Edition contents come from Rockstar's support page (its Aug 18 2026 revision, which we read on Oct 11 2026) and from the PlayStation Store copy, which carries Rockstar's own descriptions in more detail.

Not covered here, because nothing official exists: a third edition, a physical disc, a physical Ultimate Edition, Game Pass or PS Plus inclusion, and launch discounts. If any of those appear, they will be announced by Rockstar and we will add them.

Advertisement

What the Ultimate Edition adds

The Ultimate Edition is the Standard game plus the Ultimate Edition Upgrade. Rockstar's list, with detail from the PlayStation Store copy:

GroupItemDetail from the store copy
Vehicles'95 Grotti Cheetah
VehiclesShitzu SqualoDocked at Washington Beach
Vehicles'67 Vapid Dominator Buggy and GarageGarage is the Paradise Garage in Watson Bay
VehiclesGanado Retro Build
VehiclesJason's Safehouse VehiclesA Dinka Enduro and a Crest Kayak
WeaponsHawk & Little Morgan Revolvers
WeaponsPersonalized Weapon VariantsJason's Girardi ES9 and Lucia's Klose K17 pistols
StyleVice City Styles, Goodtime GearOutfits, hairstyles and tattoos
Destinations and missionsPTT Youngin$ Compound
Destinations and missionsClassic Car CollectionA commission from a fixer named Wyman
DestinationsRideout Customs Mod Shop"Only open for business" with Ultimate
DestinationsSara's Unisex Salon"Only open for business" with Ultimate
DestinationsStock 305 Clothing Store"Only open for business" with Ultimate
DestinationsElectric Fang Tattoo ParlorOver 50 tattoos designed by the artist collective FAILE; Ultimate only
DestinationsOne-Eyed Willie's Mod Shop"Only open for business" with Ultimate

Rockstar also says further bonuses are "uncovered behind each chapter". It has not said what they are.

The detail that matters most is in the last five rows. These are not only items to collect: Rockstar's copy says five businesses in the world are open only to Ultimate owners. That is the strongest argument for the Upgrade. It is also why the Upgrade being on sale "at any time" matters: you can decide after you have played, rather than before.

For where these places sit on the map, see Leonida. For the two leads named in the weapon rows, see Lucia and Jason.

The pre-order bonuses, and who gets which

BonusDigital pre-orderPhysical pre-orderTerms
Vintage Vice City Pack ('55 Vapid Stanier Sedan and Garage, outfits and hairstyles, an exclusive weapon pattern)YesYesPre-order or buy before Nov 20 2026. The Rockstar Store adds "while supplies last"
One month of GTA+YesNoRockstar Store labels it a digital store bonus. Rockstar Support's physical list leaves it out
7-day pre-loadYesYes. Rockstar says the box ships from Nov 12 to support pre-loadPre-load opens Nov 12 at local midnight

The Xbox Store also lists the Vintage Vice City Pack as part of the Ultimate Edition.

GTA+ month: the fine print by platform

TermPlayStationXbox
Offer endsNov 19 2026, purchase by 23:59:59Not stated for GTA+; the listing gives Nov 19 2026, 23:59:59 for the Vintage pack
Redeem byMar 31 2027Within 180 days after placing the pre-order
After the free monthAuto-renews monthly at the regular price until cancelledNot stated on the listing we read
LimitOne redemption per account, however many copies you buyOne redemption per platform account
TransferCannot be transferred; only the account that pre-ordered can redeem itNot stated

Two practical points. If you pre-order on PlayStation and do not want to keep paying for GTA+, set a reminder to cancel after the free month. And on PlayStation, buying a second copy does not give you a second month, because the limit is one per account regardless of additional purchases.

Region rules

PlayStation codes work only on accounts in the region where they were bought; Rockstar Support lists the regions. Xbox codes are not region-locked. Japanese product codes expire 170 days after Nov 19 2026, which by our count is May 8 2027. If you are buying a code from another country's store, the platform choice changes the risk.

Platforms

GTA VI is on two consoles: PlayStation 5 and Xbox Series X|S. Rockstar's GTA VI site says it "Plays Best On" PlayStation 5, which is marketing wording, not a performance claim. The PlayStation Store lists the game as "PS5 Pro Enhanced" and supports Remote Play and offline play. Both stores list it as single player. Rockstar's pre-order post calls it "a single player experience", and no online mode has been announced.

Which edition should you get

This table is ours. It lays out the five realistic ways to buy at today's US prices, so the choice is a matter of reading one row.

How you buyTotal costUltimate contentGTA+ month (pre-orders only)Vintage pack (before Nov 20)Disc
Digital Standard$79.99NoYesYesNo
Digital Ultimate$99.99YesYesYesNo
Digital Standard, Upgrade later$79.99 + $20.00 = $99.99Yes, when you add itYesYesNo
Physical Standard$79.99NoNoYesNo (code in box)
Physical Standard, Upgrade bought digitally after redeeming$79.99 + $20.00 = $99.99Yes, when you add itNoYesNo (code in box)

Our honest reading of that table:

  • If you are not sure, buy Standard. At today's Xbox prices you lose nothing by adding the Upgrade later, and you can judge the five Ultimate-only businesses from inside the game. On PlayStation, check first: the US PlayStation Store listed the Upgrade as "Unavailable" on Oct 11 2026, with no reason given. The other risk is that the Upgrade price changes; nothing official says it will.
  • Buy Ultimate up front only if you already know you want the extras. It saves a step, not money.
  • Physical buys you a box, not a disc. It still needs a download, and it gives up the GTA+ month. Choose it for gifting or a retail purchase, not for offline ownership. Our pre-load and physical copy page covers what that means in practice.
  • Buy before Nov 20 if you want the Vintage Vice City Pack. That deadline applies to every route above.

The collector's item is not an edition

"The Goodtime State - Vice City Collection" costs $399.99 at the Rockstar Store. The game is sold separately. The store lists 11 items: a gator figure, sunglasses, a crossbody bag, a snapback hat, a mirror, a shot glass, a swizzle spoon, a keychain, a pin set, a sticker pack and a double-sided poster. Rockstar's Sep 24 2026 Newswire post says it is limited and will arrive Nov 19. Rockstar also opened a wider GTA VI apparel and collectibles range on Oct 8 2026. None of it includes the game or in-game content.

Trivia

  • Pre-orders opened at midnight local time on June 25, 2026, worldwide (Rockstar Newswire).
  • The Vintage Vice City Pack's '55 Vapid Stanier is a sedan with its own garage, so Standard pre-order buyers also get a garage, not only Ultimate buyers.
  • The PlayStation Store showed the release to us as 05:00 AM UTC on Nov 19, which is 12:00 AM Eastern Standard Time.

Sources

More from the archive