Home > Archive > GTA VI Release Time: What Is Official, By Time Zone

GTA VI Release Time: What Is Official, By Time Zone

Only two official GTA VI times exist: the PS Store's 12:00 AM EST and local-midnight pre-load. Conversions for 12 zones and what 14 PS stores list.

Last checked: Oct 11 2026. If Rockstar, Sony or Microsoft publishes an unlock hour, this page changes the same day.

Rockstar has published a release date, Thursday Nov 19 2026. It has not published a release hour. Only two official times exist anywhere:

  1. The US PlayStation Store lists the release as 11/19/2026 12:00 AM EST.
  2. Rockstar says pre-load begins "at local midnight on November 12, 2026".

Any other time you see is either a conversion or a guess. This page shows the conversions, labeled as such, and what we found when we checked 14 regional PlayStation stores: each one lists midnight in its own time zone, not one worldwide moment.

At a glance

ItemAnswerStatus
Release dateThu Nov 19 2026Official (Rockstar Newswire, Nov 6 2025)
Time on the US PlayStation Store12:00 AM EST, Nov 19 (05:00 UTC)Shown on the store listing
Pre-load startNov 12 2026, local midnightOfficial (Rockstar Support)
Xbox release hourNot displayed on the Xbox StoreNot official
Rockstar-announced unlock hourNoneNot official
One worldwide unlock momentNot stated by anyoneNot official

What is counted, and how

We read the US PlayStation Store listing twice on Oct 11 2026: in a browser set to US Eastern time, where it showed "11/19/2026 12:00 AM EST", and from a server, where the same listing showed "05:00 AM UTC". The page data behind both views holds one value, 2026-11-19T05:00:00Z, so the store renders that one moment in the viewer's time zone.

That value is stored in a field typed DAY_MONTH_YEAR. In other words, the store treats it as a date. The midnight hour may be nothing more than the start of that date in the store's reference zone. We report it because it is the only time printed on a storefront, not because anyone has said the game unlocks at that minute.

All conversions use the IANA time zone database, run by script on Oct 11 2026. Clocks change before launch: US daylight time ends Sunday Nov 1 2026 and European summer time ends Sunday Oct 25 2026, so every Northern Hemisphere zone below is on standard time on Nov 19. Sydney and Auckland are on daylight time.

Advertisement

The US PlayStation listing time, converted (conversion, not official)

This table takes the single US listing moment, 12:00 AM EST on Nov 19 (05:00 UTC), and expresses it in 12 zones. It answers "when is that US time where I live?" It does not tell you when your own region's store unlocks; the next table does a better job of that.

City (zone)UTC offset on Nov 19Local time of the US listing moment
Los Angeles (PST)UTC-8Wed Nov 18, 9:00 PM
Denver (MST)UTC-7Wed Nov 18, 10:00 PM
Chicago (CST)UTC-6Wed Nov 18, 11:00 PM
New York (EST)UTC-5Thu Nov 19, 12:00 AM
Sao Paulo (BRT)UTC-3Thu Nov 19, 2:00 AM
London (GMT)UTC+0Thu Nov 19, 5:00 AM
Berlin (CET)UTC+1Thu Nov 19, 6:00 AM
Dubai (GST)UTC+4Thu Nov 19, 9:00 AM
New Delhi (IST)UTC+5:30Thu Nov 19, 10:30 AM
Tokyo (JST)UTC+9Thu Nov 19, 2:00 PM
Sydney (AEDT)UTC+11Thu Nov 19, 4:00 PM
Auckland (NZDT)UTC+13Thu Nov 19, 6:00 PM

For US players on the US store, this table is directly useful: the listing moment falls on the evening of Nov 18 everywhere west of Eastern time. Whether the game actually unlocks then is not stated.

What 14 regional PlayStation stores list

This is our original table. We opened the same GTA VI product on 14 regional PlayStation Store sites on Oct 11 2026 and read the release value each one carries. Then we converted each value to the local time of that store's main zone.

PlayStation storeValue listed (UTC)Local time in the store's zoneCompared with the US listing moment
Auckland, New ZealandNov 18, 11:00Nov 19, 12:00 AM NZDT18 hours earlier
Sydney, AustraliaNov 18, 13:00Nov 19, 12:00 AM AEDT16 hours earlier
JapanNov 18, 15:00Nov 19, 12:00 AM JST14 hours earlier
South KoreaNov 18, 15:00Nov 19, 12:00 AM KST14 hours earlier
IndiaNov 18, 18:30Nov 19, 12:00 AM IST10.5 hours earlier
United Arab EmiratesNov 18, 20:00Nov 19, 12:00 AM GST9 hours earlier
GermanyNov 18, 23:00Nov 19, 12:00 AM CET6 hours earlier
FranceNov 18, 23:00Nov 19, 12:00 AM CET6 hours earlier
United KingdomNov 19, 00:00Nov 19, 12:00 AM GMT5 hours earlier
BrazilNov 19, 03:00Nov 19, 12:00 AM BRT2 hours earlier
ArgentinaNov 19, 03:00Nov 19, 12:00 AM ART2 hours earlier
United StatesNov 19, 05:00Nov 19, 12:00 AM EST0
CanadaNov 19, 05:00Nov 19, 12:00 AM EST (Toronto)0
MexicoNov 19, 06:00Nov 19, 12:00 AM CST (Mexico City)1 hour later

Every one of the 14 values is midnight on Nov 19 in the store's own zone. That is a pattern in the store data, not an announcement. It matches how Rockstar handled the two events it did time: pre-orders opened "at midnight local time on June 25", and pre-load begins "at local midnight" on Nov 12.

Two cautions follow from the table:

  • A single store spans several zones. The US store uses Eastern time. A player in Los Angeles sees 9:00 PM on Nov 18, not midnight local. Canada likewise uses Toronto time, and Australia uses Sydney time, so the Australian value reads as 9:00 PM on Nov 18 in Perth (UTC+8).
  • The UK store lists 12:00 AM GMT, which is five hours before the US moment, not the 5:00 AM GMT you would get by converting the US time. Use your own region's store page, not a converted US time.

What is not official

ClaimStatusWhat would confirm it
An Xbox unlock hourNot official. The Xbox Store displays no time. Its page data carries a 2026-11-19T05:00:00Z date value, which is the same as the US PlayStation value, but the page never shows it to buyersA time shown on the Xbox listing, or a Rockstar post
One global unlock at the same momentNot stated by Rockstar, Sony or Microsoft. The store data points the other wayA Rockstar post
An exact pre-load hour per consoleNot official beyond "local midnight"The consoles on Nov 12
Unlock in "time zone order", starting in New ZealandInference only. The PlayStation values in our table run in that order, but no one has announced a rolloutLaunch night
A release time on the Rockstar StoreNone given. It lists November 19, 2026 onlyn/a

Two other times that matter

  • Pre-load, Nov 12, local midnight. Rockstar's own wording. It is seven days before launch, matching PlayStation's "7-Day Pre-load" label. Our launch day checklist lists what to do that day.
  • The bonus cut-off, Nov 19 at 23:59:59. The PlayStation and Xbox listings say "prior to 19 November 2026 23:59:59" for the pre-order bonuses. Neither names a time zone. See our pre-order bonuses page.

Trivia

  • Japan and South Korea list the same UTC value, 15:00 on Nov 18, because both use UTC+9.
  • Mexico is the only store in our sample whose value falls after the US one, by one hour, because Mexico City is on UTC-6 in November, one hour behind US Eastern standard time.
  • Read from a server set to UTC, the German listing prints "18.11.2026 11:00 PM UTC", a date that looks a day early. In Berlin it is midnight on Nov 19.

Sources

More from the archive