Home > Archive > Every GTA Online Heist Update, Dated

Every GTA Online Heist Update, Dated

Every GTA Online heist update from 2015's Heists to 2026's Kortz Center Heist: when each was promised, dated and released, and the gaps between them.

GTA Online has had thirteen years of updates, but only five of them were built around a heist that Rockstar put in the title. This page dates each one from Rockstar's own Newswire and Take-Two's filings, and answers a narrower question than our GTA Online overview: how long players waited for each heist, and how that wait changed.

The short answer: the wait shrank, then became the longest yet. The first heist took 531 days to arrive after Rockstar first promised it. The next three all arrived in December, 1,008, 730 and 369 days apart. Then came the longest gap of all: 2,037 days from The Cayo Perico Heist to The Kortz Center Heist in July 2026.

This page covers names, dates, platforms and what Rockstar and Take-Two said. It contains no payout figures, money-making routes or exploits.

At a glance

ItemAnswerSource
Heist updates named as heists5 (Heists, Doomsday, Diamond Casino, Cayo Perico, Kortz Center)Rockstar Newswire
FirstHeists, Mar 10 2015 (consoles); Apr 14 2015 (PC)Newswire, Feb 24 2015
LatestThe Kortz Center Heist, Jul 14 2026Newswire; Take-Two 8-K, Aug 7 2026
Longest gap between heist updates2,037 days (Dec 15 2020 to Jul 14 2026)our arithmetic
Shortest gap369 days (Dec 12 2019 to Dec 15 2020)our arithmetic
First heist playable soloThe Cayo Perico Heist, Dec 15 2020Take-Two 8-K, Feb 8 2021
DeveloperRockstar GamesTake-Two filings

What is counted, and how

What counts as a heist update. A row in the main table is an update whose name Rockstar gave as a heist: Heists (2015), The Doomsday Heist, The Diamond Casino Heist, The Cayo Perico Heist and The Kortz Center Heist. Two later story updates are built the same way, with setup work and a finale, but Rockstar did not call them heists: The Contract (2021) and The Cluckin' Bell Farm Raid (2024). They get their own short table, labeled as heist-style. Recurring bonus events such as Rockstar's "Heist Challenge" weeks are left out, because they add no new heist.

Dates. The release date is the day of Rockstar's "now available" or "out now" Newswire post, cross-checked against Take-Two's quarterly releases, which from 2022 list a release day. The notice date is the day Rockstar first published the release date.

Arithmetic. Day counts were computed by script from calendar dates and checked by hand. Example, Heists to Doomsday: Mar 10 2015 to Mar 10 2017 is 731 days (2016 was a leap year); Mar 10 to Dec 12 2017 adds 277; 731 + 277 = 1,008.

What is left out. Payouts, takes, best approaches and any glitch or exploit. Take-Two does not publish player counts per heist, so none appear here.

Advertisement

The heist updates, dated

This is the original table of this page: each heist from first public notice to release.

Heist updateFirst notice of a dateDate givenReleasedNotice before releaseGap after previous heist
HeistsFeb 24 2015 (Newswire)Mar 10 2015Mar 10 2015 (consoles); Apr 14 2015 (PC)14 daysfirst
The Doomsday HeistDec 7 2017 (trailer page)"December 12th"Dec 12 20175 days1,008 days
The Diamond Casino HeistDec 5 2019 (Newswire)Dec 12Dec 12 20197 days730 days
The Cayo Perico HeistNov 20 2020 (Newswire)Dec 15Dec 15 202025 days369 days
The Kortz Center HeistJul 9 2026 (Newswire)Jul 14Jul 14 20265 days2,037 days

Doomsday and the Diamond Casino Heist launched on the same date two years apart, Dec 12, which is why that gap is exactly 730 days. Once Rockstar gave a date, every heist arrived on it.

How each one was described

Heists (2015). Rockstar first listed Heists on Sep 25 2013, six days before GTA Online opened on Oct 1 2013, as "full-on cooperative Heist missions" with a planning board in the player's apartment. It gave no date. On Dec 16 2014 it said Heists were "coming early in 2015" and had "taken a little more time than originally expected". On Feb 24 2015 it set Mar 10, calling Heists a four-player co-op mode, and pushed the PC version of GTA V to Apr 14 so that Heists would be ready there on day one. Take-Two's May 18 2015 release confirmed Heists as a free update on PS4, PS3, Xbox One, Xbox 360 and PC.

The Doomsday Heist (2017). Three acts, each ending in a finale, for crews of 2, 3 or 4 players. One crew member needed an underground Facility to start. Take-Two's Feb 7 2018 release placed it inside "the biggest Grand Theft Auto Online update yet".

The Diamond Casino Heist (2019). Rockstar called the heist "an all-new approach to Heist architecture and execution", planned from a basement under an Arcade property with three planning boards. Take-Two's Feb 6 2020 release said its scenarios unfold "in response to player's choices".

The Cayo Perico Heist (2020). An island raid that Rockstar said could be played "solo or with up to three other players". Take-Two's Feb 8 2021 release called it GTA Online's "biggest update to date" and noted the option to play the entire heist solo "for the first time".

The Kortz Center Heist (2026). An art theft at the Kortz Center museum, run with the fixer Raf De Angelis for a client called Mr. Faber. It starts from an Art Studio expansion inside a Mansion property. It can be played solo or with up to three others. Take-Two's Aug 7 2026 release lists it on PS4, PS5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X|S and PC.

Heist-style story updates

UpdateNoticeReleasedRockstar's descriptionPlatforms (Take-Two)
The ContractDec 8 2021Dec 15 2021"an all-new adventure for solo players and groups" with Franklin Clinton's agencyPS4, Xbox One, PC
The Cluckin' Bell Farm RaidMar 1 2024Mar 7 2024a "new story update" against a cartel using the Paleto Bay factory farm; solo or up to three othersnot listed in a filing we found

Counting these two, the 2,037-day wait between named heists breaks into three shorter stretches: 365 days to The Contract, 813 days to the Farm Raid, and 859 days to the Kortz Center Heist.

What changed across five heists

Heist updateCrew Rockstar describedPlanning basePlatforms named at launch
Heists (2015)4 playersapartment planning boardPS3, Xbox 360, PS4, Xbox One; PC from Apr 14
Doomsday (2017)2 to 4 playersFacilitynot stated in the sources above
Diamond Casino (2019)crew (size not stated)Arcade basementnot stated in the sources above
Cayo Perico (2020)1 to 4 playerssubmarine HQnot stated in the sources above
Kortz Center (2026)1 to 4 playersMansion Art StudioPS4, PS5, Xbox One, Xbox Series X|S, PC

Two trends stand out. Heists went from a four-player co-op mode to one that can be played start to finish alone. And each new heist has asked players to own a newer property first, from an apartment in 2015 to a Mansion in 2026.

Why the gaps matter

The first heist was the slowest. Counting from the Sep 25 2013 promise to Mar 10 2015, it took 531 days. After that, Rockstar stopped naming heists long in advance: from 2017 on it gave each date only days before launch, between 5 and 25 days ahead, and hit it every time.

The latest gap is the longest, and it sits next to Rockstar's biggest launch. The Kortz Center Heist arrived Jul 14 2026, four months before GTA VI, which Rockstar has set for Nov 19 2026 as "a single player experience" (FACTS F1, F47). No GTA VI online mode has been announced (F48), so nothing here predicts heists in a future game. See /library/gta-vi.

Trivia

  • Heists are the reason GTA V reached PC on Apr 14 2015 rather than Mar 24. Rockstar's Feb 24 2015 post tied the PC date to having Heists ready on day one. Every GTA date change is listed on /library/gta-series-delays-history.
  • Rockstar's Dec 16 2014 Heists post sent readers to an outside interview for the reasons Heists "have taken a little more time than originally expected".
  • Both the Doomsday and Diamond Casino heists launched on Dec 12, two years apart.
  • The Kortz Center Heist let players keep the stolen artwork to display in their Mansion rather than sell it, according to Rockstar's launch post.

For the update-by-update history of the whole mode, see /library/gta-online. For GTA V itself, see /library/gta-v.

Sources

More from the archive